Equipment: Why I’ll Always Buy S&W Handcuffs

Posted on 28 February 2011 by

0


Handwritten note I received from Sandy at Smith & Wesson

This has nothing to do with intelligence, and everything to do with customer service. I have a bunch of different handcuffs, some from Peerless and some from Smith & Wesson.

I have found that I like the S&W M&P melonite lever-lock cuffs, for their finger-activated double-lock mechanism, and I bought several pairs from Cuffs4Cops.com. Those guys are great – they have good prices, and they engrave free your name and department (lest other cops snake your cuffs).

Couple of weeks ago I received a shipment of two pairs of these and I noticed that one of them was a little tight through the jaws – one of the cuff arms didn’t swing through freely.

I called S&W and got Sandy on the phone. She sounded concerned that they were broken, and asked me – insisted, really – to send them back to her.

“But I want to make sure that you don’t just replace the cuffs,” I said, “because they’re engraved.”

“No problem,” Sandy assured me, “I’ll take care of it.”

I sent the cuffs in to the Maine address, and forgot about it.

A week later I got the package back; the cuffs had been cleaned, oiled, packaged as new and worked perfectly. And in the box was the handwritten note from Sandy.

To get personalized service from any company these days is outstanding; to get this level of personal attention – the woman took time to hand-write me a note even though a computer print-out describing the work she did was also included in the box – is the stuff of which life-long loyalty is made.

Sandy? Thank you.